Sportsbooks For American League West

The American League West Division owns the unique and somewhat disturbing reality that they are the only division that has yet to produce a World Series champion since Major League Baseball realigned to its current six-division format in 1994. In fact, during that span, the Texas Rangers, who lost the 2010 World Series to the San Francisco Giants and the 2011 Fall Classic to the St. Louis Cardinals, are the only AL West Division team to with the American League Championship Series and advance to the World Series. [+]

You have to go back to 1991 when the Minnesota Twins won the World Series, to find a champion produced by the American League West. That was in the old two-division format and today, the Twins play in the AL Central. The 1989 Oakland Athletics were the last current AL West team to win the World Series.



Best American League West Sportsbook Odds

With such individual talent at work, bettors can always find solid wagering opportunities within the American League West. Take a look at the betting odds below. 

Just because their teams don’t tend to win the World Series, that doesn’t mean there isn’t some good baseball being played in the American League West. Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim outfielder Mike Trout, the 2014 American League most valuable player, is considered the best all-around ballplayer in the game today. Texas Rangers outfielder Josh Hamilton was the MVP of the AL in 2010. Houston Astros left-hander Dallas Keuchel won the American League Cy Young Award in 2015.

Results / FixturesMLB - Regular

What Are The American League West Standings Today

The American League West Division standings str located right here and you should make it a priority to check them out and study what is contained in this information on a regular basis. 


StandingsMLB - Regular

A Deeper Look Into American League West

The American League West was the only four-team division after Major League Baseball realigned to a six-division format in 1994. That changed in 2011 when the Houston Astros agreed to relocate from the National League Central to the AL West beginning with the 2013 season.

The Astros are the only one of the five AL West teams that’s never won the division crown, although in 2015 they did earn a American League wildcard playoff position. Of the AL West teams, only the Seattle Mariners have never played in a World Series, but of the five teams in the division, only the Oakland Athletics can boast of winning the Fall Classic.

With 13 World Series wins, the Athletics rank second all-time in titles among American League teams behind the 27 captured by the New York Yankees. 

How To Make Money Betting On American League West

With their unique time zones and warm climates, the American League West often presents different playing scenarios that can impact both the home and road team. For years prevailing wisdom in baseball was that the searing heat of Texas would prevent the Rangers from qualifying for the playoffs, the thinking being that the combination of heat and humidity over the course of a 162-game season would sap the strength from the players, especially the pitchers.

It wasn’t until the late 1950s that air travel made it possible for Major League Baseball to expand to the West Coast. The National League moved westward first, but the American League got aboard the Pacific train in 1961, adding the Los Angeles Angels as an expansion franchise.